Electoral Reform Group

In January 2016 the Hamilton Chapter polled its members to identify what we wanted to focus on in the coming year. Electoral Reform was the top priority identified by our members.

During the 2015 federal election, the Liberal Party of Canada promised to make every vote count and to make 2015 the last election conducted under our current First-Past-The-Post system.

Our Electoral Reform Group is focused on getting the government to honour those promises and to bring in a new, fair and proportional electoral system for the next federal election in 2019.

The Electoral Reform Group has been busy this year:

  • we prepared a Position Paper on Electoral Reform
  • we visited 6 area MPs to advocate for electoral reform
    • Bob Bratina, MP for Hamilton East-Stoney Creek
    • David Christopherson, MP for Hamilton Centre
    • Scott Duvall, MP for Hamilton Mountain
    • Karina Gould, MP for Burlington
    • David Sweet, MP for Flamborough-Glanbrook
    • Filomena Tassi, MP for Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas
  • we attended area Town Halls on electoral reform
  • we made submissions to the Special Committee on Electoral Reform
  • we took part in LeadNow’s National Day of Action on Tuesday, December 13th
  • we are currently organizing a campaign to get the government to keep their promise on electoral reform

If you would like to join the Electoral Reform Group or learn  more, please contact Don Giberson.

He can be reached at don [at] dreamcrafters [dot] ca or 905-383-9221.